Invitation Ali Igmen Page 2

Professor Ali Igmen is an author of the dissertation and many scholarly publications on the Kyrgyz identity. In his works he not only depicts general tendencies of the identity transformations and balance of power in in the framework of politics and culture he examines individual stories of the outstanding performers and actors of the soviet and post-soviet Kyrgyz Republic, their professional growth, role and impact on the cultural development of the Kyrgyz society. Thise personal stories make it possible to perceive the general picture, understand the course of development of the civil society of Kyrgyzstan in the past and present.


Ali Igmen – Associate Professor at the California State University. His research interests include Central Asia, Eurasia, Russia, Soviet Union, Turkey, Middle East, China, World, Theater and Oral History. Except his native Turkish and English, Mr. Igmen speaks Kyrgyz, Russian, Kazakh and Uzbek languages.

1974-1979 Bursa Iktisadi ve Ticari Ilimler Akademisi, (Uludag University), Bursa, Turkey

1982-1983 M.A., Graduate School of Public & International Affairs, University of Pittsburgh

1992-1993 M.A., Near Eastern Languages and Civilization, University of Washington, Seattle

1994-2004 Ph.D., Department of History, University of Washington, Seattle


2002 Lecturer, Department of International Relations, Kyrgyz National University, Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic

2004-05 Lecturer, Department of History, University of Washington, Seattle

2010 Visiting Professor, Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey 2005-06 Kemal H. Karpat Visiting Assistant Professor of Central Asian History, Department of History, University of Wisconsin, Madison

2006-2012 Assistant Professor of Central Asian and Oral History (tenure-track position)

2006-present Director of Oral History Program, Department of History, CSULB Summer

2012-present Associate Professor of Central Asian and Oral History

Selected Honors and Awards

Early Career Excellence Award, CSULB, 2011

SCAC (Scholarly and Creative Activities Committee) Awards, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012